The College Council contributes to the governance of the College on behalf of the faculty.

The council consists of 40 members of the College faculty, half of which are elected; the other half are appointed by the President upon recommendation of the Dean of the College. The President, Provost, Dean of the College, and Masters of the Collegiate Divisions are ex officio members, without a vote. The Dean of the College is the presiding officer of the College Council.

The council meets twice a quarter to discuss matters pertaining to the academic mission of the College, including admission requirements, curricula, instruction, examinations, grading, and degrees in the College.

The Committee of the College Council

The Committee of the College Council consists of the Dean of the College and seven members elected by the College Council. At least one member from each of the Biological Sciences Collegiate Division, Humanities Collegiate Division, Physical Sciences Collegiate Division, and Social Sciences Collegiate Division must be on the committee. 

The committee meets montly during autumn, winter, and spring quarters to prepare items for action by the College Council. Priority is given to matters of curriculum and academic programs.