Advanced Language Proficiency

Once you fulfill your the language competence requirement, you have an opportunity to work toward an Advanced Foreign Language Proficiency Certificate. The College offers the program to recognize students with advanced proficiency in a foreign language. Students who successfully pass a University of Chicago oral and written proficiency test will receive a certificate of advanced proficiency in a foreign language and will have this proficiency noted on their transcripts. If you are interested in obtaining the Advanced Language Proficiency Certificate, contact the proficiency examiner listed below for language-specific information.

Although the certificate will note the precise passing grade received on the test (Pass –€“ High Pass –€“ High Pass with Honors), your transcript will note only that you have attained advanced proficiency in a specific language. (If you take the exam but fail to pass it, your transcript will NOT indicate this.)

Proficiency Examiners

The written tests (to assess reading, writing, and aural comprehension) are offered by appointment. If you’d like to register for this written test and sign up for an oral interview to assess oral proficiency, contact the proficiency examiner listed below.

Note: Eligibility and designated levels vary across language. The examiner in a given language is the best source of information.

ChineseYouquin Wangywang7@uchicago.edu
FrenchCéline Bordeauxcelineb@uchicago.edu
GermanColin Benertcbenert@uchicago.edu
ItalianVeronica Vegnavvegna@uchicago.edu
JapaneseMisa Miyachimisa@uchicago.edu
KoreanJieun Kimjieunk@uchicago.edu
PolishKinga Kosmalakkmaciej@uchicago.edu
PortugueseAna Limaafl1@uchicago.edu
Russian & CzechErik Houleerhoule@uchicago.edu
SpanishLidwina van den Houtlmvdhout@uchicago.edu
Other LanguagesCatherine Baumannccbauman@uchicago.edu